Comparison · Cat Flaps & Doors

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap vs PetSafe Microchip Cat Door

Two selective-entry cat flaps.

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

Microchip entry.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
vs
PetSafe Microchip Cat Door

PetSafe Microchip Cat Door

15-digit chips, 40 pets.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
Our verdict

Pick SureFlap if your cat's chip might be a 9 or 10-digit type, since it reads more chip standards. Pick PetSafe if all your cats have 15-digit chips and you want to store up to 40 pets.

The central trade-off

Chips. SureFlap reads 9 (AVID Secure), 10 (FDX-A) and 15 (FDX-B) digit chips; PetSafe reads 15-digit chips.

Pets stored. PetSafe states up to 40 programmed pets.

Locks. Both have 4-way manual locks; neither controls exit per cat (SureFlap DualScan does).

Side by side

SpecificationSureFlap Microchip Cat FlapPetSafe Microchip Cat Door
Dimensions8.94 x 8.74 x 4.92 inches; 1 pounds4.8 x 8.66 x 9.41 inches; 1.76 pounds
PowerNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Weight16 ounces1.76 pounds
MaterialPlasticNot stated by the maker

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap if

  • Mixed or older chip types

Full reference

Choose the PetSafe Microchip Cat Door if

  • Many pets
  • 15-digit chips

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure