Comparison · Cat Flaps & Doors

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap vs DualScan

SureFlap's standard flap against its exit-controlling DualScan.

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap

Microchip entry.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
vs
SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap

SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap

Per-cat exit control.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
Our verdict

Pick the standard Microchip Cat Flap if all your cats can come and go. Pick DualScan if some cats must stay indoors; it scans on exit and applies per-cat permissions for up to 32 pets.

The central trade-off

Exit control. DualScan sets exit permissions per cat; the standard flap scans on entry only.

Opening. Both are 4 3/4 in high by 5 5/8 in wide.

Batteries. Both use 4 AA batteries for up to a year.

Side by side

SpecificationSureFlap Microchip Cat FlapSureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap
Dimensions8.94 x 8.74 x 4.92 inches; 1 pounds8.27 x 8.27 x 5.83 inches; 2.2 pounds
PowerNot stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Weight16 ounces2.2 pounds
MaterialPlasticNot stated by the maker

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap if

  • All cats go in and out

Full reference

Choose the SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap if

  • Some cats must stay in

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure