Comparison · Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes

PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Litter-Robot 4

Two popular globe boxes at different price levels.

PETKIT PuraMax 2

PETKIT PuraMax 2

76L, cats 3.3–22 lb.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
vs
Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Up to 4 cats, any clumping litter.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
Our verdict

Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for a roomy 76 L interior, 7 IR and 4 weight sensors and a lower price, with cats up to 22 lb. Pick the Litter-Robot 4 for its four-cat rating and established design.

The central trade-off

Cats. PETKIT states 3.3–22 lb and not under six months; Whisker states up to 4 cats of at least 3 lb.

Bin. PuraMax 2's 7 L bin lasts up to 15 days for one cat, per PETKIT.

Consumables. PETKIT uses its PuraX/PuraMax bags and N50 odor eliminator; Litter-Robot uses its own liners and filters.

Side by side

SpecificationPETKIT PuraMax 2Whisker Litter-Robot 4
Cats (maker)Not stated by the maker4 cats
Cat weight (maker)Not stated by the maker3 lbs
Litter (maker)clumping litterclumping litter
Waste bin lasts (maker)15 daysNot stated by the maker
Noise (maker)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Dimensions24.21"L x 21.96"W x 21.96"H24"L x 24"W x 31"H
Weight22 pounds24 pounds
Warranty2 Year WarrantyWhiskerCare

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the PETKIT PuraMax 2 if

  • Lower price
  • Roomy interior
  • Cats up to 22 lb

Full reference

Choose the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 if

  • Three or four cats
  • Established design
  • Any clumping litter

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure