Comparison · Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin vs Litter-Robot 4

PetSafe's spinning globe against Whisker's Litter-Robot.

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

Up to 25 lb, any litter.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
vs
Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Up to 4 cats, any clumping litter.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
Our verdict

Pick the SmartSpin for a 12 in entry, cats up to 25 lb and the freedom to use clumping or non-clumping litter. Pick the Litter-Robot 4 for a four-cat rating and established design.

The central trade-off

Litter. PetSafe says SmartSpin takes clumping or non-clumping litter; Whisker says Litter-Robot takes any clumping litter.

Cats. SmartSpin is built for cats up to 25 lb; Litter-Robot for up to 4 cats of at least 3 lb.

Bin. SmartSpin promises up to 2 weeks hands-free.

Side by side

SpecificationPetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpinWhisker Litter-Robot 4
Cats (maker)Not stated by the maker4 cats
Cat weight (maker)Not stated by the maker3 lbs
Litter (maker)clumping litterclumping litter
Waste bin lasts (maker)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Noise (maker)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Dimensions20.9"L x 18.9"W x 26.4"H24"L x 24"W x 31"H
Weight25 pounds24 pounds
Warranty1 Year Limited WarrantyWhiskerCare

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin if

  • Any litter type
  • Large cats
  • Low entry

Full reference

Choose the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 if

  • Up to 4 cats
  • Established design

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure