Comparison · Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes

CATLINK Open-X vs PETKIT PuraMax 2

An open-top box against a popular globe.

CATLINK Open-X

CATLINK Open-X

12L drawer, 5 GHz Wi-Fi.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
vs
PETKIT PuraMax 2

PETKIT PuraMax 2

76L, cats 3.3–22 lb.

Check current price

Check price on Amazon
Our verdict

Pick the Open-X if you want an open design, dual-band Wi-Fi and a 12 L drawer. Pick the PuraMax 2 for an enclosed globe with stated weight limits and many sensors.

The central trade-off

Design. Open-top versus enclosed globe.

Wi-Fi. Open-X joins 2.4 and 5 GHz; PuraMax 2 is 2.4 GHz.

Bins. Both state up to 15 days for one cat.

Side by side

SpecificationCATLINK Open-XPETKIT PuraMax 2
Cats (maker)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Cat weight (maker)Not stated by the makerNot stated by the maker
Litter (maker)Not stated by the makerclumping litter
Waste bin lasts (maker)15 days15 days
Noise (maker)30dBNot stated by the maker
Dimensions23"L x 21"W x 23"H24.21"L x 21.96"W x 21.96"H
Weight21.4 pounds22 pounds
Warranty1 Year Warranty2 Year Warranty

Values are the makers' published specifications. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it.

Which should you choose?

Choose the CATLINK Open-X if

  • Open-top
  • 5 GHz router

Full reference

Choose the PETKIT PuraMax 2 if

  • Enclosed globe
  • Stated weight range

Full reference

How we research · Disclosure